Venice, part I

I mentioned here I might post from time to time about travelling. So one January Friday we decided spontaneously to go to Venice, which turned into a great Idea. My husband booked two nights in Dei Dragomanni hotel, a charming tiny hotel in ancient Venetian pallazo, gave me ”generously” two hours to prepare for the trip and before the sunset we reached the city. During the time hubby was looking for parking I arranged travelling combo tickets, plans, timetable of the vaporeti and quiet hungry could not wait to get into the hotel and of course food.

I haven’t been back in Venice for years and was totally thrilled of the winter atmosphere. Visiting Venice in winter, out of the main tourist season, can be truly wonderful! Almost no crowds, the lines/queues are shorter, and the more ”authentic” side of Venice tends to be much easier to find as for example the Venice Jewish ghetto (first ghetto in Europe instituted 1516) or simply good food, which I am addicted not mentioning a great coffee.

Apologies for the poor quality of the photographs, has been taken with cell phone.

_1010047

_1010049

_1010061-2

_1010062-3

Venice after sunset, on the way to the hotel

Dei Dragomanni hotel (apologies for the poor quality of the photographs, has been taken with cell phone)

Venice, window shopping on the way to the restaurant for dinner (apologies for the poor quality of the photographs, has been taken with cell phone)

6 thoughts on “Venice, part I

  1. Why are you complaining about the pictures? I think these impressions are great – haven’t been to Venice in years and this makes me want to pack and go 🙂 Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. Thank you, happy face again.:-) I do not complain, the pics are just not sharp and perfect. We did not have my hubby ”normal” camera along as we were in a hurry. Of course I did not post the raw pics. I just could not! I worked on them a little bit in one very well known program called P…….:-) BTW Venice in winter was so charming I was thinking about to make it a tradition.
    Suzi

  3. Pingback: Going to Venice Carnival | SILKY 1 WAY

Leave a Reply

